Arsene Wenger Includes Forgotten French Star In His Europa League List

Follow ooh to be a Gooner on Facebook and Twitter for more latest Arsenal news, match analysis, transfer news, injury news, team news and rumours from reliable sources around the World.

Arsenal have named forgotten defender Mathieu Debuchy in their Europa League squad.

The Gunners will be participating in the competition for the first time since 2000 and the first since the competition’s rebranding from the UEFA Cup.

Debuchy was widely expected to leave the Emirates in the summer, but a move away failed to materialise.

The 32-year-old enters his fourth campaign at Arsenal, although injury has all but wrecked his time at the club. Debuchy was limited to less than 20 minutes of playing time last season and is yet to appear at all this season.

However, injured midfielder Santi Cazorla was left out, with goalkeepers Matt Macey and Deyan Iliev, who are still members of the U23 squad, being included on the senior list.

Arsenal Europa League squad:

  1. Mathieu Debuchy, 4. Per Mertesacker, 6. Laurent Koscielny, 7. Alexis Sánchez, 8. Aaron Ramsey, 9. Alexandre Lacazette, 10. Jack Wilshere, 11. Mesut Özil, 12. Olivier Giroud, 13. David Ospina, 14. Theo Walcott, 16. Rob Holding, 17. Alex Iwobi*, 18. Nacho Monreal, 20. Shkodran Mustafi, 21. Calum Chambers, 22. Jeff Reine-Adélaïde*, 23. Danny Welbeck, 24. Héctor Bellerín, 29. Granit Xhaka, 30. Ainsley Maitland-Niles*, 31. Sead Kolašinac, 32. Chuba Akpom, 33. Petr ?ech, 34. Francis Coquelin, 35. Mohamed Elneny, 37. Krystian Bielik*, 39. Tolaji Bola*, 43. Josh Dasilva*,  45. Aaron Eyoma*, 47. Charlie Gilmour*, 49. Ryan Huddart*, 50. Deyan Iliev, 51. Chiori Johnson*, 53. Hugo Keto*, 54. Matt Macey, 58. Marcus McGuane*, 59. Tafari Moore*, 61. Reiss Nelson*, 62. Eddie Nketiah*, 65. Ben Sheaf*, 69. Joe Willock*.

Follow oohtobeagooner on Facebook and Twitter for more latest Arsenal transfer news, injury news, team news and rumours.