List Of Arsenal Europa League Squad- Surprise Names Added While New Signing Omitted

Follow ooh to be a Gooner on Facebook and Twitter for more latest Arsenal news, match analysis, transfer news, injury news, team news and rumours from reliable sources around the World.

Arsenal have been unable to include Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in their Europa League squad for the rest of the season due to UEFA rules.

Henrikh Mkhitaryan has been included despite playing for Manchester United in the Champions League.

Both men joined Arsenal last month and will hope to make a big impact in north London.

Both Aubameyang and Mkhitaryan played in the Champions League earlier in the season but only one can play in the Europa League for Arsenal.

United qualified for the knockout rounds of the Champions League Mkhitaryan can play in the Europa League.

But Borussia Dortmund were knocked out and dropped into the Europa League – meaning he cannot now play for Arsenal.

UEFA rules state: “For all matches from the start of the round of 32, a club may register a maximum of three new eligible players for the remaining matches in the current competition. Such registration must be completed by 1 February 2018 (24.00CET) at the latest. This deadline cannot be extended.

“One player from the above quota of three who has been fielded in a UEFA club competition group stage match for another club in the current season may exceptionally be registered, provided that the player has not been fielded:

  1. in the same competition for another club; or
  2. for another club that is currently in the same competition.”

Arsenal did add three players to their squad though in Mkhitaryan, Santi Cazorla, and Konstantinos Mavropanos.

Dropping out were Chuba Akpom, Krystian Bielik, Francis Coquelin, Mathieu Debuchy, Olivier Giroud, Marcus McGuane, Tafari Moore, Julio Pleguezuelo, Jeff Reine-Adélaïde, Alexis Sanchez, Ben Sheaf, Theo Walcott


Follow oohtobeagooner on Facebook and Twitter for more latest Arsenal transfer news, injury news, team news and rumours.